"Her remarkably accomplished debut album, Namer Of Clouds, beguiles with its poetry and tenderness, and her eye for detail, vivid imagination and bright vocals make it a captivating listen. She is a talent to watch"​

      - The Guardian (read more reviews here)


Kitty Macfarlane is a songwriter and guitarist from Somerset, whose music is rich with visual imagery and written with an eco-eye. From the starling murmurations on the Somerset Levels to the lowly eel's epic transatlantic migration, and the small part we ourselves play in a much bigger picture, her songs are bound by the underlying theme of mankind's relationship with the wild. Kitty Macfarlane's highly anticipated debut album Namer Of Clouds, released September 2018 and produced by Sam Kelly and Jacob J Stoney, gathers inspiration from the sky to the seabed. Carried by a voice 'as clear as a mountain stream' (FRUK), her lyrics touch on intervention and rewilding, climate change and migration, and woman’s historical relationship with textiles and the land. The album (and as of recently, her live show) is augmented by all kinds of ‘found sound’ recorded in locations from Somerset to Sardinia – birdsong, waterfalls, the click of knitting needles - and bookended by sounds of the wild. 

Kitty has recently been nominated for the Horizon Award in the 2019 BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards. Her debut album Namer Of Clouds was one of The Guardian's Best Folk Albums of 2018 with airplay across BBC Radio 2, 3, 4 and 6 Music, meriting FATEA's award for Female Artist of the Year and being nominated for Album Of The Year in the fRoots Critics Poll. As a bird enthusiast, last year Kitty was invited to guest-present several episodes of Radio 4's Tweet of the Day and also performed a live session on BBC Radio 2 in January this year. Since releasing her debut EP Tide & Time back in 2016, and subsequently touring as support for Kathryn Roberts & Sean Lakeman, Blair Dunlop and Elephant Sessions, Kitty has received project funding from the English Folk Dance and Song Society, and more recently the Lynsey de Paul Prize for female songwriters.


Among other things, Kitty sings on Ben Walker's solo album Echo (July 2019), Topic Records' 80th anniversary compilation Vision & Revision (May 2019), Ashley Hutchings album Paradise & Thorns (November 2018), Ciaran Algar's album The Final Waltz (2016), and Sam Kelly's album The Lost Boys (2015). Kitty also guest sings on Ian Stephenson's new live project Modulate (2019).

"Smooth and believable" 

- Iggy Pop, BBC 6 Music

"Stunningly beautiful - what a production, what a sound"

- Mark Radcliffe, BBC Radio 2

"In my view: authentic emotion. That and talent of course"

- Tom Robinson, BBC 6 Music

"There's something gloriously pure and authentic about everything she does" 

- BBC Intro In The West


"An inordinately accomplished musician"

- Folk Radio UK

"Startlingly poetic" 

- The Observer

"faint echoes of Joni Mitchell and Vashti Bunyan" 

- The Metro

© 2019 Kitty Macfarlane 

Photography by Todd MacDonald - toddmacdonaldmedia.com